top of page

Lament (2004)

Medium: string orchestra

Length: ~7.5 min

Lament is an arrangement for string orchestra of what was originally the second movement in a trio for flute, violin, and cello. Melancholy and contemplative in nature, it is set in a slow 9/8, and has a steady eighth note ostinato throughout the majority of the piece, with a rhythmically off-set falling melodic line harmonized in thirds, and often treated contrapuntally. The piece moves through a number of different modes--predominantly dorian--before a serene and homophonic middle section in G-minor. The return of the opening section moves the ostinato first to the second violins, then to the violas, before once again arriving in the cellos with the return of the opening D-dorian mode.

Price: $65 

PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
bottom of page